Thank You Mom . . .

8 May

Me and my Momma!

For loving and teaching me to love every part of myself, my body, my heart, and my mind.

For acting like it was no big deal when I wanted the black baby doll when I was little. You taught me to never judge anyone because of their appearance or their beliefs, even when they were different from mine.

For believing in my dreams and giving me the courage to go after them.

For always making the BEST halloween costumes! Princesses, Minny Mouse, and even a Troll!

For having the strength to leave a marriage that was hurting you. It showed me that we always deserve to be treated right and to be happy.

For being a room mom, a Girl Scout leader, a marching band volunteer, and the manager of our sports teams.

For being open and honest with me about sex and discovering my own sexuality and teaching me to love myself as a sexual being and to never be ashamed of that.

For embracing and trying to understand all the things that made me different and special.

For going to Planned Parenthood with me when I was 19.

For encouraging me to play with Barbies and baby dolls and kitchen sets and makeup when I was little.

For encouraging me to play sports like volleyball, baseball, snowboarding, hockey and lacrosse.

For letting me play baseball on the boys team, when I didn’t want to play with the girls.

For the MANY MANY times you helped me get organized.

And most of all, thank you for being a strong, confident, beautiful, driven, passionate, intelligent woman for me to look up to. I wouldn’t be half the woman I am today without you.

I love you more than anything in the world! You are my rock, my mom and my best friend!

Love, Fess ♥

My Mom with me and my brother after he was born! Almost 21 years ago!

One Response to “Thank You Mom . . .”

  1. Dick Patterson May 8, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Beautiful thoughts for your Mom and so very well written
    Mom has a lot to be proud in you!

Leave a Reply

